St Brelade Steelers crowned League winners


Congratulations to St Brelade Steelers for winning the 2022/23 Snooker league.


After a tight season with several clubs having a chance to win the league right up to the penultimate week, it came down to the final week where St Brelade played 2nd placed Services, requiring 3 frames to win the league, whilst a 6 2 victory for The Services would have given them the league title.


Kicking off the evening was Gary Boschat against Lee Travers and after an entertaining match Gary won 2-0 setting the Steelers on their way. With Services now requiring the last six frames to win the league, Paul Destro played Steve Thomas. After some great safety play from Steve to virtually get to parity with 16 points in snooker Paul cleared from the brown to black ball with a 22 break to take the frame. In the second frame again Paul consolidated an early lead until Steve again gained 16 points from snookers to get to parity. Eventually with Steve 7 behind and with just the black ball left, Paul took his chance to win the frame and the game 2-0 to put the match at 2-2 and keeping alive Services chances of the league title.


Next up was Karl Le Fevre and Robbie Kilpatrick. With Karl giving 21 points start, an immediate 23 break put him ahead. However Robbie replied with a 20+ break himself before Karl replied with another 20+ break, and eventually coming out on top to give St Brelade the league title. In what ended up being another entertaining game, Karl edged Robbie out to put St Brelade 4-2 up.


The final game was between St Brelade captain Sean “Crusher” Macdonald and Ryan Swann. In the first Ryan got in early and kept Sean at bay to win the first frame. In the second Sean eventually ran out the winner in a tight affair.


Congratulaions to Services who held on to be 2nd in the league and to St Brelade’s Gary Boschat who ended up winning the averages for the season.


A full report of the snooker season will be published at a later date and also given to the up and coming AGM


Karl Le Fevre

Tournament Secretary